Amosun battles four for Ogun State Central seat

The race for Ogun Central senatorial seat has taken a new dimension, as Governor Ibikunle Amosun, Dr. Femi Majekodunmi, Mrs. Titi Oseni-Gomez and incumbent Senator Lanre Tejuoso get set for what promises to be a crucial battle. Correspondent ERNEST NWOKOLO,
who has been monitoring the situation, reports.

THE race for Ogun Central senatorial seat has never generated so much interest. The expression of interest of Governor Ibikunle Amosun for the seat has raised the stakes in the battle. But, Dr. Femi Majekodunmi, an aspirant for the seat on the platform of the African Democratic Congress (ADC), has declared that Amosun does not pose any serious threat; as it would be easier to defeat the governor than any of the other aspirants eyeing the seat.

At least, five persons have expressed interest for the seat. On the platform of the APC, there are aspirants: Governor Amosun and the present occupier of the seat, Senator Lanre Tejuoso. The ADC also has two aspirants: Dr. Majekodunmi and former Speaker, Chief (Mrs) Titi Oseni-Gomez. Until recently, Oseni-Gomez was a member of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP). She has since switched allegiance to the ADC, which appears to be a formidable platform in the state. Former member of the House of Representatives, Kayode Jelili Amusan of the PDP is also eyeing the seat in 2019.

Time is ticking away. The Ogun Central seat is peculiar and has always been keenly contested among contenders, because of the elites’ influence. This is understandable. The district is socio-culturally and traditionally designated as Egbaland and comprises six local governments. Egba people are culturally delineated into relatively distinct groups such as Ake, Owu, Oke-Ona, Gbagura among others.

Over 100 years ago, the area had existed as a country of its own; with an independent government called Egba United Government (EUG) until the British made it part of Nigeria in 1914. It is peopled by highly enlightened, educated and politically-sophisticated personalities and has had the rare grace of giving Nigeria great sons and daughters like former President Olusegun Obasanjo; head of Interim National Government (ING), Chief Ernest Shonekan; winner of the annulled June 1993 presidential election, the late Chief Moshood Kashimawo Olawale Abiola; Nobel Laurette, Prof. Wole Soyinka; the Ransome-Kutis; among others.

As the area that hosts the administrative capital of Abeokuta, the senatorial district has enjoyed relative numerical advantage over the other districts. All of these set the district apart in more ways than one.

Since 1999, no senator that represented the district has had the chance to return to the Red Chamber of the National Assembly for a second term. The previous senators include are: Femi Okunrounmu, Alliance for Democracy (AD), 1999 to 2003; Senator Ibikunle Amosun, PDP, 2003 to 2007; Iyabo Obasanjo-Bello, PDP, 2007 to 2011; Senator Gbenga Obadara, Action Congress of Nigeria (ACN), 2011 to 2015; and the incumbent Senator Tejuoso, APC, 2015 till date.

Post a Comment