Defection of Amosun’s loyalists may rock Ogun Assembly

Preferred guber aspirant dumps APC in House of Reps
The defection yesterday of four loyalists of Governor Ibikunle Amosun may have bode a leadership change in the Ogun State House of Assembly.

Specifically, the Majority Leader post is apparently subject to debate as the earlier occupant and representative of Abeokuta South II constituency, Idowu Olowofuja, was among the defectors from the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC) to the Allied People’s Party (APP).

The three others were Yinka Mafe, Chief Whip, Ganiyu Oyedeji (Ifo II) and Tunde Sanusi (Obafemi Owode).

The Speaker, Suraj Adekunbi, who read the defection letters, assured the chamber that the issue would be tackled at the caucus level.

In a similar development, the governor’s preferred successor, Abdulkabir Akinlade, and three others dumped the APC in the House of Representatives.

While Akinlade left for the APP, Salisu Koko (Kebbi State) and Rabi’u Kaugama (Jigawa State) went for Social Democratic Party (SDP) and Ajalah identified with the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP).

Post a Comment